Schools: Athletics - Teams

Our Coaches and Teams

Manila Public Schools has a long history of pride and success in the area of athletics. In fact, if you live or go to school in Manila, you probably either play for one (or more) of our teams or cheer your heart out at our games.

Athletic Director: Chris Ferrell
ferrellc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Coaches

Photo of Zach Birmingham
Zach Birmingham

Photo of Jerry Castor
Jerry Castor

Photo of Cary Cossey
Cary Cossey

Photo of Jason Crane
Jason Crane

Photo of John Deaton
John Deaton

Photo of Lorin Morgan
Lorin Morgan

Photo of Scott Morgan
Scott Morgan

Photo of Sammie Fowler Morphis
Sammie Morphis

Photo of Brandon Nix
Brandon Nix

Photo of Amy Pryor
Amy Pryor

Photo of Mary Smith
Mary Smith

Photo of Craig Wheeler
Craig Wheeler

Photo of Lee Wimberley
Lee Wimberley


High School Teams

Junior Varsity and Seventh Grade Teams

High School

Manila is a member of the Arkansas Activities Association. The Lions are classified as 3A, District 3.

Baseball

Spring means baseball in Manila, and the Manila Lions are a force to be reckoned with. Read more about Lions Baseball on their student-created website.

Head Coach: Jason Crane
cranej@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Zachary Birmingham
birminghamz@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Basketball (Boys)

Manila loves basketball. That’s why “Lions” and “basketball” have been synonymous for years in northeast Arkansas. Find out more about the Lions on the student-created Manila Boys Basketball website.

Head Coach: Lee Wimberley
wimberleyl@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: John Deaton
deatonj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Basketball (Girls)

The Lady Lions have made girls’ basketball just as strong of a tradition in Manila as boys’ basketball is. As our motto proudly states,  "Lady Lions Basketball Racing To the Top.”
See more about the Lady Lions on their student-created website.

Head Coach: Sammi Fowler Morphis
fowlers@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Cary Cossey
cosseyc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Cheerleading

Manila’s talented group of cheerleaders raise spirit for our teams as well as make our school proud in cheer competitions. See more about the Manila Lions Cheerleaders on their student-created website.

Coach: Chassity McCallie
mccalliec@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Football

Football fans turn out in full force in Manila on Friday nights – or in any town where Manila is playing. Read more about Lions Football on their student-created website. Go Lions!

Head Coach: Jerry Castor
castorj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Zachary Birmingham
birminghamz@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Jason Crane
cranej@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Lorin Morgan
morganl@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Scott Morgan
morganc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Brandon Nix
nixb@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Golf

The Manila High School golf team boasts a championship tradition. Read more about the team on their student-created website.

Head Coach: John Deaton
deatonj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Softball

Lady Lions and diamonds make for highly competitive softball. Read more about the Lady Lions Softball team on their student-created website.

Head Coach: Craig Wheeler
wheelerb@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Scottie Reinhart
reinhars@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Track and Cross Country

Manila’s boys’ and girls’ cross country teams run the distance each fall while the track and field teams take over each spring. Find out more about cross country on the student-created website.

Track Coach: Jerry Castor
castorj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Cross Country Coach: Amy Pryor
pryora@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Cross Country Coach: Mary Smith
smithm@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us


Junior Varsity and Seventh Grade

Basketball (Boys)

Head Coach: John Deaton
deatonj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Lee Wimberley
wimberleyl@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Basketball (Girls)

Junior Head Coach:Cary Cossey
cosseyc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Junior Assistant Coach: Sammi Fowler Morphis
fowlers@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Seventh Grade Head Coach: Cary Cossey
cosseyc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Cheerleading

Coach: Chassity McCallie
mccalliec@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Cross Country

Cross Country Coach: Tim Bassing
bassingt@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Football

Head Coach: Jerry Castor
castorj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Zachary Birmingham
birminghamz@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Jason Crane
cranej@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Lorin Morgan
morganl@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Scott Morgan
morganc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Brandon Nix
nixb@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us