EditRegion7

Schools: Athletics - Teams

Our Coaches and Teams

Manila Public Schools has a long history of pride and success in the area of athletics. In fact, if you live or go to school in Manila, you probably either play for one (or more) of our teams or cheer your heart out at our games.

Athletic Director: Steve Milligan
milligans@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Coaches

Photo of Zach Birmingham
Zach Birmingham

Photo of Cary Cossey
Cary Cossey

Photo of Jason Crane
Jason Crane

Photo of Derek Drewitt
Derek Drewitt

Photo of Jake Hill
Jake Hill

Photo of Lorin Morgan
Lorin Morgan

Photo of Scott Morgan
Scott Morgan

Photo of Amy Pryor
Amy Pryor

Photo of Mary Smith
Mary Smith

Photo of Craig Wheeler
Craig Wheeler

Photo of Lee Wimberley
Lee Wimberley


High School Teams

Junior Varsity and Seventh Grade Teams

High School

Manila is a member of the Arkansas Activities Association. The Lions are classified as 3A, District 3.

Baseball

Spring means baseball in Manila, and the Manila Lions are a force to be reckoned with. Read more about Lions Baseball on their student-created website.

Head Coach: Derek Drewitt

Basketball (Boys)

Manila loves basketball. That’s why “Lions” and “basketball” have been synonymous for years in northeast Arkansas. Find out more about the Lions on the student-created Manila Boys Basketball website.

Head Coach: Lee Wimberley
wimberleyl@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Basketball (Girls)

The Lady Lions have made girls’ basketball just as strong of a tradition in Manila as boys’ basketball is. As our motto proudly states,  "Lady Lions Basketball Racing To the Top.”
See more about the Lady Lions on their student-created website.

Head Coach: Zachary Birmingham
birminghamz@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Cary Cossey
cosseyc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Cheerleading

Manila’s talented group of cheerleaders raise spirit for our teams as well as make our school proud in cheer competitions. See more about the Manila Lions Cheerleaders on their student-created website.

Coach: Tiffany Costner
costnert@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Football

Football fans turn out in full force in Manila on Friday nights – or in any town where Manila is playing. Read more about Lions Football on their student-created website. Go Lions!

Head Coach: Lorin Morgan
morganl@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Jason Crane
cranej@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Scott Morgan
morganc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Jake Hill
hillj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Golf

The Manila High School golf team boasts a championship tradition. Read more about the team on their student-created website.

Head Coach: Mark Manchester
mmanchester@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Softball

Lady Lions and diamonds make for highly competitive softball. Read more about the Lady Lions Softball team on their student-created website.

Head Coach: Craig Wheeler
wheelerb@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Jonna Hamilton
hamiltonj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Track and Cross Country

Manila’s boys’ and girls’ cross country teams run the distance each fall while the track and field teams take over each spring. Find out more about cross country on the student-created website.

Cross Country Coach: Amy Pryor
pryora@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Cross Country Coach: Mary Smith
smithm@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us


Junior Varsity and Seventh Grade

Basketball (Boys)

Head Coach: Lee Wimberley
wimberleyl@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Basketball (Girls)

Junior Head Coach:Cary Cossey
cosseyc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Junior Assistant Coach: Zach Birmingham
birminghamz@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Seventh Grade Head Coach: Cary Cossey
cosseyc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Cheerleading

Coach: Tiffany Costner
costnert@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Football

Assitant Coach: Jake Hill
hillj@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Lorin Morgan
morganl@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Assistant Coach: Scott Morgan
morganc@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us

Volleyball

Head Coach: Sarah Moore
moores@mps.crsc.k12.ar.us